It is Good to be Known

My brother bought me
the same card for my birthday
as last year. He knows.

One thought on “It is Good to be Known

  1. I dig this haiku, even though my brothers and I haven’t given each other birthday cards in several years.

    The haiku reminds me of George Saunders’ work. Congratulations. Methinks the resemblance has to do with your haiku’s whimsical tenor as well as its acknowledgement and shrug-your-shoulders-and-weakly-smile kind of acceptance of the mediocrity that permeates much of our lives. Egads, it makes me want to reread “Pastoralia”. So many books, so little time.

    I hope you keep up the good work, Benjamin, and know that I’ve been a regular reader of it. I’m also sometimes envious of your comparative popularity, though I realize the proverbial grass may always be greener on the other side. Speaking of which, below is a relevant George Saunders quote from his essay, “Buddha Boy”:

    “The mind is a machine that is constantly asking: What would I prefer? Close your eyes, refuse to move, and watch what your mind does. What it does is become discontent with That Which Is. A desire arises, you satisfy that desire, and another arises in its place. This wanting and rewanting is an endless cycle for which, turns out, there is already a name: samsara. Samsara is at the heart of the vast human carnival: greed, neurosis, mad ambition, adultery, crimes of passion, the hacking to death of a terrified man on a hillside in the name of A More Pure And Thus Perfect Nation–and all of this takes place because we believe we will be made happy once our desires have been satisfied.

    I know this. But still I’m full of desire…”

    tl;dr Gaining more Twitter followers won’t fill the hole in my soul, deliver the expected good feelings, rid me of dissatisfaction, etc., etc.

    That being said, positive accomplishment is one of the pillars of the PERMA model of human flourishing. Thus, maybe there’s merit to developing a following and having a positive impact through my poetry. What are worthwhile aspirations and endeavors? What is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?

    Please come with me on a meditation retreat.

    Peace and love and much goofiness,
    Bert

    Like

Leave a Reply

